top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejustjvd

I Tried Baking...Not For Me.

Over the Easter weekend I thought I would do something nice for my family by trying out baking. You see, my dad was always the baker in the family and I thought that maybe the baking genes would just naturally pass down to me.....it did not.


My superb ingredients from the local Metro.

After searching through mounds of recipe's, I finally found my dad's cherry cake recipe. It is a big favorite of my mom's and as she is finally out of quarantine I thought it'd be a nice surprise!


I pulled out all of the ingredients and already i'm overwhelmed. First of all, how does one know they got the right sized eggs? Does egg size make a difference?


I got Great Value cherries but what if I was supposed to get major name brand cherries!? Are there such thing as major name brand cherries? How does one know they got quality chrries vs. non quality cherries? Okay, Okay i'm rambling sorry.




As a novice baker I made sure to follow each step and measurement precisely. I'm talking getting eye level with the measuring cup to ensure my flour measurement lined up exactly at 1 cup. I carefully sliced the cherries in half, put them in a seperate bowl as instructed, and then worked on my wet ingredients. I'm not going to lie, I felt like a boss ass bitch.


The beauty before the storm.

I was at the kitchen table whisking, and pouring, and measuring like I was a pro. No one could tell me nothing. I officially had the cooking gene.


I poured my batter into my bowl and it was like magic. It just poured in so smoothly, it smelt great, and yeah I tried raw batter and it tasted great too!


Finally, it was ready to go into the oven and I was super excited. This was my moment!


The whole house filled up with the sweet smell of cherry cake and we were all super excited.....until I tried to get that sucker out of the pan.


It. Would. Not. Come. Out. Of. The. Pan.


I tried beating the crap out of the bottom, a prayer to Jesus, and some tears but this mofo would just not budge. Now I am panicking because who the hell wants to slice up cake, from a metal bowl!?


I swear to you I did every step right...I think. Okay, if I am being honest, I may have left it in the oven for too long because I got caught up with Peaky Blinders on Netflix. And....I honestly don't remember if I greased the pan before puring the batter in so this was going to be a mess from the jump.


So what does one do when their cake doesn't come out correctly? They buy cupcakes.


Cupcakes from the local Metro.

The cupcakes were very delicious so shout out to the Metro bakers who are clearly capable of making their way around the kitchen. I tried and I did not prevail. It turns out being good at cooking isn't just a gene you pick up. It actually requires practice and I do not have the mental patience for that ish.


Everyone ended up having the cake as well and it did taste pretty good i'm not gonna lie. But you will not recieve a picture of it because I will not play myself like that. Enjoy the picture of the bomb ass cupcakes and remember when you're baking a cake to set a timer and grease the pan.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page