top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejustjvd

I Love Photo Albums!

Over the weekend I found an old photo album in my mom's closet and I couldn't believe all of the memories that came rushing forward. I found i've taken for granted just taking pictures on my phone and forgetting about them as time goes on. Or even worse, some photos were taken on Snapchat or Instagram stories and they are forever lost in the internet abyss.


Going forward, I definitely want to take more photos on my Polaroid camera so I can have a physical reminder of some of my favourite moments. Until then, I will show you my top 3 favorite pictures from this one photo album (we have like 50) and share a little story about each one. So let's go!


Great-grandpa had style period.

This photo is of my great-grandfather Charles McCrae. I unfortunately never got the chance to meet him, but from this image I feel like he was one cool dude!


Look at that casual pose! Grandad was a P-I-M-P. From what i've been told, he was a big family man, hard working, and didn't take anyone's BS.


My favourite thing about this image is how you can tell it was taken from a different time. From the car, to the way he dresses, you can't help but be transported into his world and imagine what it would've been like.


I wish we had more photos of him, but this one is definitely a keeper!



Mommy looking like a stylish Queen.

This photo is of my mommy!!! How cute is she!? Look at that gap toothed smile, stylish Peacoat, and matching hat and purse. Okay ma'am pop off!!


I believe my mom was either 6 or 7 at the time and was on her way to church. If you grew up in a seasoned household, then you know when it comes to church you better be dressed to the nines!


Sometimes we forget that our parents were once kids like ourselves, so it's always nice to see them at that stage in their life.


I also just realized how similar I am to my mom. I most definitely got her smile and the cute fashion sense.




Strike a pose!

Naturally, I had to save the best for last. Yup, that's me, JVD, lookin cute as hell in some purple corduroy pants. (That's my younger cousin beside me, but he is not an important character in my journey bloop!)


As you can see, style runs in this family. Look at that slick back side pony, purple corduroy pants, shiny black boots, all tied together with the hip sticking out. Like wow, who told me to be this extra at 7!?


I love this photo because I am low-key narcissistic, and if I find a cute photo of me it needs to be shown.


Mini JVD, though she may not have been as loud as the young woman I am today, she clearly had the confidence to strike a pose once the camera was ready! Queen from a young age. We love it.




I hope you enjoyed this mini trip down my memory lane. I think I may do more posts like this because it really is a treat to have such fond memories captured in photographs. If you get a chance, go find a photo album in your house and spend the day going through it. Not all memories should be posted online, some of them need to be printed out to enjoy later on when you need to remind yourself that you were once a cute ass Queen.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page